Hubbard Award

Thomas W. Haas

Hubbard Award logo

Thomas W. Haas 

Hubbard Family Award for Service to Philanthropy


Evening of Distinction


Exemplary Service



Friday, September 27, 2013


View the history of the Hubbard family
and their impact on giving to UNH.


Tom Haas is a well-known, longtime philanthropist in the New Hampshire Seacoast area. He is as renowned for his generosity and compassion as he is for his community involvement. Tom has been a supporter of several Seacoast nonprofits, including Cross Roads House, The Music Hall, 3S Artspace, and the New Hampshire Charitable Foundation.

UNH has benefited greatly from Tom’s philanthropy over the past ten years, with his support of SeagrassNet, an initiative to monitor the status of sea grass worldwide, and programs at the UNH Art Gallery, the Carsey Institute, and UNH Manchester. Most recently, he established the Thomas W. Haas Professorship in Sustainable Food Systems at the UNH Sustainability Institute. The focus of the professorship is to lead Food Solutions New England, a public-private partnership that promotes collective action to achieve a healthy, prosperous, just, and sustainable food system in New England.

Haas received his bachelor’s degree in business administration and aviation (now an avid pilot) from Nathanial Hawthorne College. He lives in Durham with his son, Tommy, who has been his inspiration for his recent support of sustainable food production.

The Power of Philanthropy

Oliver, Austin and Leslie HubbardThe Board of Directors of the University of New Hampshire Foundation, Inc. established the Hubbard Family Award for Service to Philanthropy in 2001 to honor the Hubbard family, well known at the University for its remarkable generosity, and to recognize individuals whose philanthropic leadership and gifts have strengthened the University of New Hampshire and/or who have promoted philanthropy throughout the state.


Past Hubbard Family Award for Service to Philanthropy Recipients

2012 Dana Hamel '88P
2011 James ’07P and Anne ’07P Loomis
2010 The Honorable Walter R. and Dorothy D. Peterson
2009 David Steelman ’67, ’70G and Virginia Theo-Steelman ’62, ’69G
2008 Edward A. Fish ’58
2007 S. Melvin ’47 and Mary Jo Rines
2006 Forrest D. McKerley ’57
2005 David and Rosamund Putnam Family
2004 Arnold P. ’48 and Della Hanson
2003 Frederick B. Whittemore  
2002 Lewis M. Feldstein  
2001 Kinsley van R. Dey Jr. ’48